Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club General Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 7th April 2017, 10:15   #1
BigAde
Posted a thing or two

MG ZT-T+ 135 CDTi

Default Recommended Android apps for head units?

Having had a WinCE DD unit for a while, I've now taken the plunge into the Android world with a second-hand Navall 3. I'm relatively new to Android and I've noticed most of the apps in the Play Store are (understandably) designed with phones in mind with fiddly small menu buttons - not very good if you're driving and want minimal distractions.

So as there's a lot of folks in the club with Android DD units now, I'm wondering what apps people tend to download and use?

Media Players. I've tried a few different media players now and none really seem well suited to a car environment, Poweramp being reasonably good... but still suffers a little from small buttons, difficult menu navigation etc. Steering wheel controls don't work within Poweramp... there is an (Ownice?) app you can download which improves that, but then SWC don't work in the radio app properly I've tried and failed to install a downloaded radio app "RadioPlus_v15.apk"

SatNavs. Being Android 4, I can't download Waze which I'm bitterly disappointed about as 99% of the time I know where I'm going, I just want accurate traffic information displayed for my daily commute. Tried a few other free SatNavs - some awful, some ok ... but none really seem to give me an overview of local traffic. Igo Primo that comes installed works pretty well if you need directions, but can't seem to get a traffic display on it.

Torque Pro was the main reason for having Android and while it works well, it starts on boot and displays a USB warning message every time. Startup Manager didn't seem to cure that so I've now uninstalled Torque and will just reinstall it as and when required.