Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th January 2013, 16:44   #1
hogweed
I know notheeng...
 
hogweed's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur CDTI

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stroud
Posts: 832
Thanks: 118
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default ECU 115/135bhp identification?

Hi guys – my car still has a slight issue, and the ECU is suspect. The only way I can really tell/fix it is by substitution, so I need another one (I’m aware I need to modify it to work in my car).

However… mine has had the 135bhp upgrade, and I believe you can't tell from the ECU part number whether this has been done or not, so I don’t know how to check if a used unit has had it… any ideas please?

Or failing that, does anyone have a known 135bhp unit!
hogweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2013, 16:47   #2
marinabrian
Baculum magicum requiescebant
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur Rover 75 Classic

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 5,541
Thanks: 59
Thanked 386 Times in 263 Posts
Default

I wouldn't bother, if you are transferring the data from your ECM to another to rule out a possible problem, then the tune will be transferred also.
Of course there are better options
Brian
__________________
T4 DIAGNOSTICS NOW AVAILABLE
OPTIONS ENABLED OR DISABLED

KEYS SUPPLIED AND PROGRAMMED
X-POWER 135 AND 160 BHP DIESEL TUNE UPGRADES
ROVER 75 1.8T 160PS UPGRADES


Replacement Key Prices

LOCATION MAP OF T4 OWNERS

Everything Rover Auction Site
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2013, 17:11   #3
hogweed
I know notheeng...
 
hogweed's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur CDTI

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stroud
Posts: 832
Thanks: 118
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marinabrian View Post
I wouldn't bother, if you are transferring the data from your ECM to another to rule out a possible problem, then the tune will be transferred also.
Of course there are better options
Brian
Sorry Brian, but I don’t really know what I’m doing, as will become obvious. So here’s the story! Best part of a year ago, my car got harder and harder to start, and very occasionally would cut out for a fraction of a second while driving.

One very dark, very frosty night, it breathed its last, and I got towed to a local diesel/engine management specialist. He identified a relay under the glove box which had failed, and a suspect, slightly corroded ECU. He replaced the relay and cleaned the ECU up.

Now it goes perfectly again, but still very occasionally (I mean it can be weeks between incidents) takes two goes to start, or “blips” briefly while driving. I have to assume there’s some slight corrosion damage to the ECU.

Big Russ was enormously helpful when all this happened, and told me if I wanted to change the ECU, one way was to swap the little EPROM from mine to the replacement one. So I’m trying to buy a used ECU to try that with.

But… are you saying the map, including the 135bhp upgrade, is in the little EPROM too?

And what are the better options please!

Apart from an 800 mile round trip to Newcastle!

Thanks
Roger
hogweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2013, 17:15   #4
RPWC
Roverholic
 
RPWC's Avatar
 
Rover 75 saloon classic se cdt, citroen Dispatch van

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 5,334
Thanks: 178
Thanked 221 Times in 174 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hogweed View Post
Sorry Brian, but I don’t really know what I’m doing, as will become obvious. So here’s the story! Best part of a year ago, my car got harder and harder to start, and very occasionally would cut out for a fraction of a second while driving.

One very dark, very frosty night, it breathed its last, and I got towed to a local diesel/engine management specialist. He identified a relay under the glove box which had failed, and a suspect, slightly corroded ECU. He replaced the relay and cleaned the ECU up.

Now it goes perfectly again, but still very occasionally (I mean it can be weeks between incidents) takes two goes to start, or “blips” briefly while driving. I have to assume there’s some slight corrosion damage to the ECU.

Big Russ was enormously helpful when all this happened, and told me if I wanted to change the ECU, one way was to swap the little EPROM from mine to the replacement one. So I’m trying to buy a used ECU to try that with.

But… are you saying the map, including the 135bhp upgrade, is in the little EPROM too?

And what are the better options please!

Apart from an 800 mile round trip to Newcastle!

Thanks
Roger
Post the ecu to Brian he will test it ,if necessary, repair it and post it back to you.
If its u/s he can re programme a new one for you.
__________________
Cheers Richard
RPWC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2013, 17:19   #5
rover54
retired
 
rover 75 v6 Auto Conn. SE 54 plate LPG and 2006 Rover 75 v6 Auto LPG , 1.8 r75 Manual

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Just a bit south of Wembley
Posts: 3,385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPWC View Post
Post the ecu to Brian he will test it ,if necessary, repair it and post it back to you.
If its u/s he can re programme a new one for you.
And give you a 160bhp upgrade if you want. Two birds, one stone.
rover54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2013, 20:35   #6
hogweed
I know notheeng...
 
hogweed's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur CDTI

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stroud
Posts: 832
Thanks: 118
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPWC View Post
Post the ecu to Brian he will test it ,if necessary, repair it and post it back to you.
If its u/s he can re programme a new one for you.
Errr… yes, but I think performance would be impaired without it! Have no means of getting to work without the car I’m afraid. Otherwise I’d love to.
hogweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 20:19   #7
hogweed
I know notheeng...
 
hogweed's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur CDTI

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stroud
Posts: 832
Thanks: 118
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

So... am I right? Assuming I can get a suitable ECU, and just swap the little EPROM, it should work as per the original in my car?

And does the higher bhp map live in said EPROM?

Thanks
hogweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 20:34   #8
Phil-T4
Virtual T4 now a reality!
 
Phil-T4's Avatar
 
MG ZT-T 190+

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olney
Posts: 834
Thanks: 9
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
Default

get a suitable ecu and swap the 29f400 and the eprom, then you have the same tune etc
Phil-T4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 08:20   #9
marinabrian
Baculum magicum requiescebant
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur Rover 75 Classic

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 5,541
Thanks: 59
Thanked 386 Times in 263 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil-T4 View Post
get a suitable ecu and swap the 29f400 and the eprom, then you have the same tune etc
Might be beyond the scope of most people Phil, with the 29f400bt being a 44 pin device
Bit awkward to desolder successfully at least looking at the NNN100692 that THIS company had through their hands.
Butchery and sleight of hand come to mind, customer was charged £300 for an exchange unit, replacement unit didn't work, was sent back to be told "it's suffered water damage" warranty void
Car has been immobile for a couple of months, however no longer
I have to say though this is the third time I've had experience of the "workmanship" of this outfit, and their sloppiness/sharp practice puts Del Boy to shame.
Brian
__________________
T4 DIAGNOSTICS NOW AVAILABLE
OPTIONS ENABLED OR DISABLED

KEYS SUPPLIED AND PROGRAMMED
X-POWER 135 AND 160 BHP DIESEL TUNE UPGRADES
ROVER 75 1.8T 160PS UPGRADES


Replacement Key Prices

LOCATION MAP OF T4 OWNERS

Everything Rover Auction Site
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 08:34   #10
hogweed
I know notheeng...
 
hogweed's Avatar
 
Rover 75 Connoisseur CDTI

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stroud
Posts: 832
Thanks: 118
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Yes, I’m afraid even the little 8-pin jobbie is beyond me, but I used to work for an electronics manufacturer, and one of the girls there will do it for me in her lunch break! She’d have even the 44-pin one off in seconds… but I’m hoping that won’t be necessary?

Here’s what the guy I’m hoping to buy an ECU from said:

"hi roger the early cdt 2lt ecu numbers ended in 785-541 then on 53 plate cdti changed its 131 bhp as stated on the log book, the ecu is still on the car and running what car is it going on,and what was the problem, sorrey its 131 not 135 as stated"

I’m hoping, if it says 131 in his log book, that’s what his ECU will be…

Nothing I’d like better than just to come and pay you to sort it all out for me Brian, but you’re just too far away from me I’m afraid
hogweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2006-2014, The Rover 75 & MG ZT Owners Club Ltd