PDA

View Full Version : timing belts

scannerman
28th November 2006, 06:56
hi all
on reading threads in the past the advise has been change belts every 90000 or six years wichever comes first,so early next year for me,,,but while i was at my local dealer yesterday for something else i asked for a price on the bellt change and was quoted £478 and when he looked at my car he said"01 on a y plate,its overdue it should have been done at five years",,,,advise please i'm now worried sick that my belts might snap and at the moment not in the position to change them.

Teflon
28th November 2006, 07:20
Is this a V6?

I'm no expert, but if it is, I suspect they looked up the wrong model. £478 is one heck of a bargain price from a dealer for a KV6 belts change (I thinks its about the amount that Lates charges).

My local (ex) MGR dealer wants £1000, and 'phoning around locally, most quotes are around the £800 mark. No doubt someone will be around soon to confirm, but I really wouldn't worry (unless it's not a KV6 - in which case ignore this post!).

HTH,

Cliff

Tatts
28th November 2006, 08:36
The V6 belts are changed at 6 years/90,000 miles, whichever is sooner.

Not sure about the 4 pot!

scannerman
28th November 2006, 10:59
hi all

yes it is the kv6,,i think i'll ring up and check that price again,,he did say there were three belts to change and it was an eight hour job so he must have quoted me right............

Lates
3rd December 2006, 16:14
You can save around £100 on that price with us. £375 atm until we restructure our price menu.

Ken
3rd December 2006, 16:23
You can save around £100 on that price with us. £375 atm until we restructure our price menu.

Don't you go and restructure your price menu until after my next service Lates.

its in August :laughing2:

Lates
3rd December 2006, 16:33
Heres an idea I have been toying with gents for a while.Well tbh I seen it somewhere else and I am thinking of modifying the idea to suit our needs.

Applicable to 75/zt's only.