PDA

View Full Version : Wing Mirrors

Chuckles
2nd July 2012, 07:58
Although I mainly use my Classic 1980's American Airstream MH, I want to start using our old Vanroyce 520ET, another old'n. I have had it for nearly 20 years now and it is about time she saw the light of day!

I am in the process of fitting the wiring loom to the detachable TB, but realise that my old mirrors probably will not fit the Rover’s wing mirrors.
Any idea where I could get some? Not bothered about these new EU stipulations and bureaucratic mirrors, that desk bound, pin headed, uneducated moron...... I’ll stop there... :bowdown: (in case I upset someone - you understand):D:D

I love an argument with powers to be (or think they be) and I hate convention, so none EU/bureaucratic mirrors would suite me fine.
Keeping in tune with the period of the car is more important :o

windrush
2nd July 2012, 08:24
I use Milenco Grand Aero mirrors on my 75 ,I have been caravanning since 1967 when I brought my first caravan a Sprite 400 and I have found that the above mirrors are by far the best that I have ever used

DerekS
2nd July 2012, 08:43
Towsures' with rubber straps.
But as with any make, they stick out , so I make them more visible by painting them a bright colour (instead of the black plastic). If the paint wont adhere then use 'cowboy streamers', coloured plastic strips etc. Anything to draw attention to the extra width. After all, safety is more important than looks, innit. :D

HarryM1BYT
2nd July 2012, 12:47
I carry a pair of mirrors in the boot, just to prove I got have them, but I never use them.

I find them extremely clumsy, especially on narrow roads and I can see all I need to see through the standard mirrors plus the view in the interior mirror through the van. All you need to do is take advantage of the bends in the road to have a good look back to know what is happening behind on the appropriate side.

Chuckles
2nd July 2012, 16:16