PDA

View Full Version : Laying a car up

Tatts
29th November 2006, 15:53

Simon
29th November 2006, 16:33
I'm no expert but starting the car up is a good way to stop the engine components seizing. As his mother can't drive and because he's declaring SORN on the car then it's unfortunate they can't drive the car for a few miles each week.

Bearing in mind that it'll be stationary for the 4 month duration then I'd recommend chocking the wheels and ensuring the car remains covered with a proper car cover - even if it is being stored in a garage.

I'd also recommend disconnecting the battery - but then his mother would need instructions to re-connect and then disconnect it everytime she started the car.

May main concern here is the brakes seizing as the car isn't going to be moved. Perhaps someone else with a bit more technical know-how can help out too.

Kandyman
29th November 2006, 17:49
Taken from the AA web site

Laying up your car

Items you'll need to attend to

The preparation required before you put a car into storage depends to some exent on how long the vehicle will be left for. Detailed below are our recommendations for storing a car for one month, one to three months, and more than three months.

Read the general advice and then attend to the specific items corresponding to the period for which you will be leaving your car.
General advice

1. Check the code of any coded radio before removing a battery lead. You must find out too if any on-board computer will be affected by having the battery disconnected for a long period of time. Refer to the vehicle owner's handbook or contact the manufacturer
2. If covering the vehicle don't allow plastic or any other moisture / condensation inducing material to rest on the paintwork. If outside, be careful to avoid paint damage due to flapping covers.