PDA

View Full Version : bleed nipple torque

monkey41
9th October 2012, 20:28
hi. I have just replaced the rear discs and pads on my zt CDTi but on all the instructions I could find, they mention a torque setting of 5NM on the bleed nipples. Can I ask how this is to be achieved. I am a novice, but I could not see a way of getting a torque wreng on it whicle the bleed tube is still attached. Is there such a thing as a torque spanner?

VMax1000
9th October 2012, 20:32
No need for a torque wrench, small spanner and common sense is a far better way when it comes to bleed nipples.

Anyway, 5Nm is handtight plus about 1/16 of a turn

Mike Noc
9th October 2012, 20:42
There are crow's foot spanners which can be attached to the end of a torque wrench and can be used with the bleed hose attached.

You can of course lightly nip it closed, remove the bleed hose then torque it. Or torque a nut and bolt down in a vice to get the feel of 5NM with the wrench - it really is very little, then do it by feel.

For other applications where you can't get a socket on due to access try cutting an old socket down with a grinder. The larger socket is for spanners:

http://i1108.photobucket.com/albums/h415/MikeNoc/2012-10-01-447_zps7a7cad1e.jpg

(http://i1108.photobucket.com/albums/h415/MikeNoc/2012-10-01-447_zps7a7cad1e.jpg)

Mike

mh007
9th October 2012, 21:50
As said by VMax1000, absolutely no need to torque.

Just pinch it up tight but don't overtighten.

You'll soon know if it's not tight enough as it'll leak when you apply brake pressure.

Out of curiosity, why would you want to touch the hydraulics if you are just replacing the discs & pads ?

monkey41
10th October 2012, 21:40