PDA

View Full Version : Fuel smell

tobias42
24th December 2007, 19:15
Hi Folks I am a newbie to this site as i have just purchased a Rover 75 V8.Great car but unfortunately i can smell petrol on the outside of the car. I have only driven it 200 miles since collecting it.
Is this likely to be the fuel filter problem?
Where is this located on a V8?
Any advice from owners would be appreciated.
Tobias42

brownie21
24th December 2007, 19:31
Hi Folks I am a newbie to this site as i have just purchased a Rover 75 V8.Great car but unfortunately i can smell petrol on the outside of the car. I have only driven it 200 miles since collecting it.
Tobias42

Check the injectors

Tim
24th December 2007, 21:52
Tobias42

The pump and filter are either side of the prop shaft under the rear seats. If you can smell petrol there then its been 'touched'.

Have a look on the underside for any damage follow through and up to the throttle body and look around there. The V8's don't normally smell of petrol. Just use it very quickly.

Welcome to the forum.:Santa1:

Kandyman
24th December 2007, 22:17
Welcome to the forums Tobias42,

Hope the above helps with your fault.

I would love to see some pictures of the car when you get a chance :)

ragitty
24th December 2007, 23:11
This thread may be of some help to you

http://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=13164

Petrow
25th December 2007, 16:09
Tobias42

If the fuel filter cap has come loose (no clip fitted), or if the cap hasn't been properly re-tightened after fitting the clip, then you will get a fuel smell with the tank more than about three-quarters full - but you would expect to get the smell inside the car as well as outside. First action is to check the fuel filter, which is under the rear seat on the nearside. Details, including nice pictures, can be found on threads here and on the Two-sixties website (do join us if you haven't already done so).