PDA

View Full Version : Header gasket gone or not gone??

stevehaley1965
2nd February 2014, 16:20
Good Evening,
I am a new member to the forum and bought a Rover 75 connoisseur 1.8 estate.
The car has full service history 76000 miles and I was given a 4 month warranty on the head gasket .
The rover overheated on the m1 yesterday and I got towed to my local garage .
There was no water due to hoses burst and the oil had sprayed out of what looks like a sensor underneath the lid of the engine .
Anyway my problem is , my local garage topped the car with oil , fixed the pipes and topped up the coolant and sent me on my way and said they didn't think it was the head gasket, Went for a drive last night, temperature gauge was up and down and then car over heated again.
Towed away again last night and mechanic says head gasket. I am not a mechanic so I don't have a clue, car had no coolant , lost oil , but was not blowing out smoke and seems to run okay until it over heats.
Am sending it back to garage from where I purchased tomorrow for the head gasket repair. is there a definite way to tell if the head gasket has gone please?
I have had the car a week and it is brilliant , apart from it keeps over heating.
Any advice is very much appreciated.
Thank you
Steve

chipsceola
2nd February 2014, 17:14
Hi Steve HGF is not the only reason your car can overheat, rather HGF is the result of an overheating engine, a good idea to put you more in the picture through greater knowledge and understanding is in the forum how to section here (http://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=69794).

If it has failed, then how and who does the repair will largely decide how long it lasts and to do it right, the mechanic needs to know and understand the K series engine.

planenut
2nd February 2014, 17:28
Sounds like the cam sensor has either come out or wasn't there? was there any coolant in the system when you started driving it?

chrissyboy
2nd February 2014, 20:43