PDA

View Full Version : engine noise

googly81
5th July 2014, 20:17
Hi every one I'm new to this. I have an mg zt 2l cdti recently there is a whining noise coming from the engine bay near the battery, the noise is only there when driving when stationary no noise it also at time struggles to start at times. Can any one help please.

Thanks.

suzublu
5th July 2014, 20:20
Another monkey hanger :eek::getmecoat: Welcome mate, can't help with your question as i know nowt about tractors :o but someone will be along soon ;)

googly81
5th July 2014, 20:28
Thanks mate. The noise is frustrating noticed it's getting a bit louder.

suzublu
5th July 2014, 20:33
Poor starting may be the camshaft position sensor, if you use the search facility on the top bar of the page, & type in your problems, you might find an answer while you're waiting for a proper expert;):D

googly81
5th July 2014, 20:37
I will give it a go thanks matey.

RPWC
5th July 2014, 21:28
If it's only audible when driving, then it's related to wheel rotation, sounds like bearing, jack car up and feel for side to side play on the wheel, also spin the wheel by hand and listen for noise.

googly81
6th July 2014, 15:45
Hi thanks for the advice, the bearing seems ok. The happens when engine is on if I'm stationary there is no noise but when I put foot on accelerator the noise comes back and also when driving if I take foot off the accelerator the noise stops. Could this be a fuel pump problem?..

Thanks.

Moonshine Mark
6th July 2014, 16:18
Hi thanks for the advice, the bearing seems ok. The happens when engine is on if I'm stationary there is no noise but when I put foot on accelerator the noise comes back and also when driving if I take foot off the accelerator the noise stops. Could this be a fuel pump problem?..

Thanks.

Depending on the year of the car the underbonnet fuel pump will be right next to the battery tray, it's a silver cylinder although you can only see the top from above.