PDA

View Full Version : hgf???

thisgivesmeaheadache
14th July 2015, 23:11
Excuse me if this has been asked a million times, but I cant seem to find the answer. I have just bought a rover 75 1.8 classic 70000 miles on the clock and drives perfect, no issues except for one very big issue... Gunk in the water and oil. Not overheating, not forcing the water back out of the tank, using little water from what I see. Engine sounds good, no steam from the exhaust, heater works perfect, fan comes on and off as normal. Is this the head gasket or maybe something else?

Simondi
14th July 2015, 23:28
Hi

Welcome to the club, sorry your first post is re HGF - ouch:getmecoat:

I'm no technical expert and I'm sure someone will be along directly to give a proer diagnosis but it does sound ominous.

If it does turn out to be HGF there are a number of mechanics etc who can get this sorted for you at reasonable cost.

thisgivesmeaheadache
14th July 2015, 23:50
I did buy the car knowing that there was an issue, I just thought that maybe it could be something else as there seems to be no other problem apart from the mix of water and oil. Wishful thinking in my part I think. This the second rover 75 I have had, my first one was a 2.5 connoisseur that I clocked up 60k of the 170k on the clock and apart from normal service items, it never missed a beat. I bought a s type jag after that, and I must admit, the rover 75 was a better car, in nearly every way.

eddiemc05
15th July 2015, 06:48
Hi i had same thing! Turned out it was just traces of oil in water from previous hgf and just not flushed out proper... look for the tag sticking out to indicate a new head gasket.. should be a little square peice of gasket sticking out front right corner of head

thisgivesmeaheadache
15th July 2015, 07:10