PDA

View Full Version : Crankshaft pulley and oil leak(s), 75 cdt

QuestionMark
14th June 2016, 18:56
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping to get some help, because my 75 seems to be falling apart :( The other day when I started the car, there was a loud knocking sound / rattle from the engine bay. I suspect it's the crankshaft pulley, but I'm not experienced enough to be able to tell from the sound, and when I inspected the pulley the rattle had disappeared. It seems to wiggle a little bit though, but I don't know how it's supposed to be normally. I'll be linking to a couple of videos. Can anyone tell if the pulley is bad?

The other thing is one or several oil leaks, which I have a few pictures of. I noticed them when looking for the rattle. I don't expect anyone to be able to diagnose anything from the pictures, but maybe you could tell me about some common causes? It looks like there's coming oil from the vacuum pump (which I'd never heard of until I looked it up), is that possible? I think there's also a leak from the sump plug, but that's an easy fix though. And then there has to be some leak in or around the engine to drip down... Just an endless list of problems really :mad:

Here are a couple of videos and some pictures:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B6jMVWN6Q_5Fb21yNWMxeV8xOWM&usp=sharing

One video shows the rattle sound, while the other one shows the pulley in action (after the sound had disappeared). The last 20 seconds of the latter video are probably the most relevant ones, the first minute only demonstrates my utterly poor craftmanship in filming :o I just realised that the photos aren't great either, I can take some more if it'll do anything.

Cheers,
QuestionMark

Heddy
14th June 2016, 19:22