PDA

View Full Version : Which brand slave cylinder to buy?

Ravinder
16th June 2016, 13:43
Hi guys

Looking to buy a slave cylinder ASAP as it will be getting done next week. Have heard bad things about the Tazu ones so what do you recommend? Has to be reliable. Many thanks.

Number 6
16th June 2016, 14:46
Hi guys

Looking to buy a slave cylinder ASAP as it will be getting done next week. Have heard bad things about the Tazu ones so what do you recommend? Has to be reliable. Many thanks.

How long has your existing one lasted???

EastPete
16th June 2016, 15:05
Hi guys

There have been issues with Tazu master cylinders (not slaves) - the Mark 2 version seemed to suffer from seal failure after low mileages- the Mark 1 Tazu master cylinder has a generally good reputation (although I am sure some on here will disagree !) - I have a Tazu Mark 1 master on my car for almost 3 years now, and so far so good.

Turning to slaves (since this was your question !) - the all-metal Tazu slave has been around for over a year now, and I think has a fairly good reputation so far. I have one on my car, but it has only done 2,000 miles - no signs of any leaks yet. I think there are cars that have done more than 30,000 on the Tazu slave without issues. So, I would recommend the Tazu metal slave cylinder. The only other one worth considering might be a genuine (not fake copy) LUK plastic slave, but there have been some recent reports of these failing after low mileages.

I hope this helps

Pete

Ravinder
16th June 2016, 16:06
Cheers guys. Well, my car is approaching 200k but I'm unsure if the slave that's in it currently is original or not so unable to confirm. :shrug:

I know that it is gone, however. My master cylinder was replaced just a few months ago for a Tazu one. Not sure if mk1 or mk2. I just pray that it doesn't break! :eek:

EastPete
16th June 2016, 16:12