PDA

View Full Version : Failed MOT

milford man
20th October 2016, 13:39
Failed on front brake pipes. Last year car passed with 2 advisories. Nearside & Offside Brake Pipes Slightly corroded. This year booked it into the same garage. I have been using them for nearly 20 years but when I dropped the car off this morning was greeted by the new owner. Feared the worst.

Just got a phone call your car has failed. He said he hadn't looked at last years MOT until he had failed it. Its failed on the badly corded brake pipes mentioned in the advisory last year. I said it stated slightly not badly. Well its a fail now as they are badly corroded. Not wanting to do the job myself I asked how much. Got a load of waffle about going all round the engine bay into master cylinder and into ABS modulator. Its going to cost you £300 to £350. No its not as I will be doing it myself.

I have the tools and fittings and pipe. How things change.

Regards John

trikey
20th October 2016, 13:48
Not good, quite a few failures i see can be cleaned up and treated rather than replaced, i have sent two back for retest this last month with cleaned pipes and they have been passed.

Easy money for garages doing brake pipes.

Mickyboy
20th October 2016, 15:31
Clean them up as said, I too have seen a few failures that when cleaned are passed later

Rev Jules
20th October 2016, 15:43
Failed on front brake pipes. Last year car passed with 2 advisories. Nearside & Offside Brake Pipes Slightly corroded. This year booked it into the same garage. I have been using them for nearly 20 years but when I dropped the car off this morning was greeted by the new owner. Feared the worst.