PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get into C#, but have no commercial Experience (Chicken & Egg Situation)!

r44712
1st March 2007, 13:27
Hi all,

Here's a bit of a general question relating to IT and software:

I currently work as a Micr0s0ft Navisi0n developer (using its own native language), however due to the company I work for going bust, I am potentially going to be out of job very soon.

Thing is six months ago, the same thing happened to me again. As you can maybe appricate, every six months it seems I'm having to scrabble around to try and find work. Last time it was fortunate, this time its been far more of a struggle to try and find a new job!

With this in mind I've been thinking about trying to get into some other development technologies (thought about doing this six months ago), but the trouble is I have no real (commercial) expereince in them, to even be considered (I've tried ).

I've knowlegde (from my University days) of C, C++ (Visual and ANSI), VB (amoungst others, but those are the ones I'd like to work with). It'd be great if I could find a role that utilises C#, having played around with Visual Studio at work - and seen how simillar it was to using Visual C++ at Uni.

So can you guess the problem - I've no expereince to get the experience and its quite frustrating!

Is there anyone here who's a software developer, who might be able to shed some light on my quandry?

I'm thinking my best best might to be approach companies directly?

How did other software dev. guys get their 1st role???

Thanks for any input!

salop75
1st March 2007, 19:31
Hi,