PDA

View Full Version : Replaced the thermostat housing on my V6

LeePrescott
14th June 2009, 23:23
Well I finally got round to replacing my leaking thermostat housing this weekend on my ZT-190. Many thanks to all the people who have contributed help and advice on this repair as I found the advice invaluable.

I am not a mechanic but thought I would attempt this myself to keep the costs down. Firstly there are no real shortcuts to doing this job and it took me a good 6 hours of hard work. I know people have said they have been able to do this job without removing the manifolds, I decided against this as I didn't fancy having to get the fire brigade to come and cut my hand free as I would have got it well and truly trapped :lol:

I armed myself with the Haynes manual and if you follow the instructions (can be tricky as they do "jump" across different sections) then you won't go far wrong. The one important piece of advice I can give is make sure you label everything up as you remove it. I labelled every connection and pipe with masking tape and boy was that a godsend when it came back to assembling everything. Another useful tip is take plenty of pictures as you do it. This is also invaluable when it comes to checking how a cable or pipe was routed in the first place. Another piece of invaluable information I got from here was to put a very thin smear of engine oil on O rings when re-assembling, you only need the slightest covering and it really does help.