PDA

View Full Version : ABS kicks in at low speed

courty
22nd July 2009, 22:00
Hi,
I have a 75 Club CDT from 1999. A recent fault where the ABS light was on and didn't work, fuel gauge and speedo also not working, was fixed by replacing a faulty front o/s sensor.

After this repair, I noticed that the ABS was kicking in when braking at low speed, completely unnecessarily. It works ok apart from this.

I understand from other threads that this may be because of a hairline fracture on some type of ring (I'm not very technical) that the ABS only detects at low speed, hence it kicks in thinking that one of the wheels is locked.

The mechanic I use states that the only way to check which ring is fractured is by checking manually, as the machine doesn't specify where the fault is. This is apparently difficult to do as the ring is covered, so it is labour intensive to check each wheel, hence if it's the fourth ring he checks, it'll cost a lot more than if it's the first one he checks!

Is there a short cut to finding which ring is fractured? The starting point must be the front o/s as that is where the sensor was changed.
Anyone have any experience of fixing this fault please? Could it be anything other than a crack in the ring?

As always, your help is much appreciated.:D

Courty

newcybrown
22nd July 2009, 22:32
I recently changed my o/s front sensor and had exactly the same issue at low speed braking.
I removed both front abs sensors and carefully cleaned the bearing rings thru' the sensor hole then I refitted the sensors but I swapped them over ie o/s to n/s and visa versa. Problem solved no more annoying low speed abs activation. Worth a try Courty

Dragrad
22nd July 2009, 22:56
Ummm,, What do you consider to be "low speed" ?:shrug:

My ABS kicks in at low speed when I brake hard...... Does 55mph sound low? ;)

As a matter of interest.... Is there a limit at which point the ABS will not cut in, ie. allowing "normal" braking? (Does that make sense?:confused:)