PDA

View Full Version : 1 Cylinder gone

Tango459
8th January 2011, 08:36
Hi

First of all...Great Forum with some very useful info.

I'm new to the 75, having bought one VERY cheap knowing it had a misfire. i was hoping it was a plug/lead/coil on one of the hard to reach rear pots, but alas no....

It seems that the plug was so foulded up it wasn't firing, but now I've changed it, it is belching smoke and down on compression.

my dilema is do I throw money at it or pass it on as spares.

has any one had any experience of this and knows what work/cost may be involved.

Its a 1999 2.5 V6

shame it's a lovely top of the range car with all the toys

Lost Soul
8th January 2011, 14:51
i persume its an 1800 car ... misfire and down on compression could mean the gasket is leaking between clylinders.... mine was like that ... i guess you bouth new leads have you tried a new plug in the misfiring cylinder in case its just a dead plug .., is the plug wet /no spark to the cylinder would show up as a misfire ... no fuel to it would also do that ....i sure one of the more techie guys will be along soon

As OP Quote:

Its a 1999 2.5 V6

chrissyboy
8th January 2011, 14:52
[QUOTE=chrissyboy;[/QUOTE]

have you tried a diffrent spark plug ,,, or checked that it is getting fuel to the misfiring cylinder not too up on the v6 guy will be along soon ...have you checked the oil level to see its not over full, that would smoke and lose you power .

chrissyboy
8th January 2011, 14:53
As OP Quote:

Its a 1999 2.5 V6

i know thats what multi tasking does to me ,it now corrected :D

SD1too
8th January 2011, 15:46
Hi Gordon and :welcome:

It seems that the plug was so foulded up it wasn't firing, but now I've changed it, it is belching smoke and down on compression.
Is the smoke blue suggesting piston rings? If you remove the oil filler cap with the engine running at idle can you feel strong pulses of pressure on your hand?