PDA

View Full Version : 1.8 turbo petrol 2003. won't start!!

debbiefudge
26th January 2011, 10:24
Hi, I'm a newbie.
We have a silver, Rover 75. 2003. 1.8 turbo petrol. Manual.
We are near Brighton. East Sussex.
Have only had her for a few months.
I'm disabled. My Partner, is the driver and mechanic.
I don't think I posted in the right place before, have had a couple of private messages, between T-cut and myself.
During the very cold weather, my Partner was on the by pass and she just broke down.
Called out road side recovery, not the AA or RAC.
He could only find a small pipe at the front, underneath, which had split and was leaking oil.
Pipe was very easy to replace. And then filled up with oil.
No start.
Did the fuel filter, replaced the 'O' ring. (From Ebay).
And then put the orange clip on.
Still no start.
Then put a brand new camshaft sensor on.
Still no start, although she is cranking but won't fire up.
Every single thing has been checked, relays, fuses, etc etc.
Oh, sorry, forgot to say, we bought a brand new Bosch battery.
Even though we had been told it had a new one, when we bought the car.
It was totally dead.
We were also told, the head gasket had been done, by a Rover garage.

What do we try next???

My Partner is a good general mechanic, but this car has him stumpt!!
But never worked on a Rover 75 before.

I LOVE the car, but am at screaming point now!!!
Thought we'd have her for a good few years, but can't keep throwing money at her. Is she worth fixing??
Any help and advice would be most welcome. Thanks.

T-Cut
26th January 2011, 12:51
Debbiefudge, your message box is full, so no-one can answer your PMs.

As I remember, you said the engine lost all the oil when the problems started. As I noted before, this can be a very serious thing causing damage internally. So, did you have the compression tested?