PDA

View Full Version : Having ECU Problems

crofts
19th November 2006, 00:56
I am by no means an expert in this field & dread the day I may have an ECU problem. The expense,complexity & having to put myself in the hands of an 'expert', frighten me.
So i was interested in an ad in Dec.Car Mechanics. Claim to recover lost coding, recode,code removal and recode SECOND HAND ECU's (with no expensive trips to dealer) etc. Specifically mention ROVER. Say £99.99 for Renault ECU's as example. All ECU's remapped by postal service.
Also remove crash data from air bag controllers & recode... from £49.99.
Could be a useful contact for advice and quotes (vs new at +-£1000 !)
Name: TOTAL TUNING (Pontypridd) Tel: 07722 288844
Email: [email protected]

Kandyman
19th November 2006, 01:03
Nice find there crofts.

What is a ECU

An ECU is a computer that runs the engine in all moderd day vehicles, Introduced in the early 1980s with the advent of electronic fuel injection systems, these early systems where very primitive they just monitored the revolution of the engine, air flow in to the engine and engine temperature. The ECU then used this information gathered from these sensors to inject the right amount of fuel at the right time. The advantages of fuel injection over a carburettured engine was the degree of control that a computer had over fuel delivery, 1000s of times more accurate than that of a carburetor.

In the present day an ECU is a very powerful control system capable of gathering hundreds of channels of information to control every aspect of the engine, even its own efficiency.
The worse place in the world that you could put a sophisticated piece of electronics is under the bonnet of a car due to massive vibration, constant heat variations and intense radio interference from the ignition system added to the fact that the manufacturers must produce on a huge scale, this causes so many problems and design flaws with modern day ECUs.

crofts
20th November 2006, 00:38