PDA

View Full Version : Are recomended towing limits enforceable by the police?

Jamie
26th May 2011, 13:29
Hi Folks,

I have heard several different answers for this so what I need is a definative and honest answer.

as you folks know my ZT passed on and I am now stuck with the Zafira which has a 1500Kg manufacturers tow limit and the caravan I want is 1600Kg fully laden.

can I just say first...I am a very experienced driver when it comes to towing so I know all the ins and outs of safety etc....the Zafira is easily capable of towing this van and its rock solid when towing...what I need is a legal answer not advice about how to tow.

here is the scenario...when we go on hols...the car has a full roof box, two adults, a child, a labrador and all the holiday guff...it must easily weigh around 2000Kg.

My question is how would I stand if the police stopped me and I was towing a 1600kg caravan?

is the towing limit enforceable or is it advisory?

Thanks in advance.

windrush
26th May 2011, 14:37
Simple answer is YES

Greeners
26th May 2011, 14:39
Jamie

Yes, either the police or if you are very unlucky VOSA will drag you off to the nearest weighbridge....

Jamie
26th May 2011, 15:02
Thanks Chaps...just had the same reply from cheshire police....which contradicts what the caravan dealership have told me!

not worth the risk so...solution? bigger car....smaller caravan?

decisions decisions....:shrug:

Jakg
26th May 2011, 15:21
It's not a recommendation, it's a type approval limit.

You either are / aren't type approved to tow (i.e. an Elise isn't, so irrespective of what you do, you could never legally tow with one - weirdly neither is an M5), and if you are you are only approved up to xxxx KG.

eurorover
26th May 2011, 22:57
85% of the cars weight is a recommended towing weight. experienced caravanners can do 1:1

Trophy Blue Tourer
26th May 2011, 23:22