PDA

View Full Version : Towbar wiring

Graham E
29th May 2011, 18:13
Just won this and on loking at the picture the looks like a grey connector fitted to the wiring.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180667444014&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Could this just plug into my car and work?

Towbar not arrived yet so no other info available yet.

suffolk boy
29th May 2011, 18:44
hi i am not a expert on these .but i have removed towbar wiring on a kit fitted to my ztt the wiring on that was spliced into the rear lights on both sides plus it was fitted with a relay which i cannot see in the add .as for the plug bit unless your car is fitted with mgr wiring kit there is not anythink to plug it into and even that uses scotch loc connectors as well as plugs.plus a link lead to connect it up to the fuse board.if you need a relay i still have the one i removed from my ztt you are welcome to

HarryM1BYT
29th May 2011, 18:44
Just won this and on loking at the picture the looks like a grey connector fitted to the wiring.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180667444014&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Could this just plug into my car and work?

Towbar not arrived yet so no other info available yet.

No, it is defiantely not a plug and play job. It will likely need either a relay unit to bypass the can-bus, or much better the proper can-bus system interface. You will then have various cables to get through from the back to the front. It will be slightly easier if you don't need the S socket working, but not that much.

The good news is that the mechanical bit, actually fitting the tow bar, is really easy:D

suffolk boy
29th May 2011, 18:49
getting the bumper off is easy unless like mine all the bolts at the top where rusted solid i had to cut the heads of with a hacksaw then resort to heating up the remains with a blow torch x 3 hours later:mad:

Miff
29th May 2011, 18:52