The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums

The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Help Forum (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   White Smoke (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=311427)

MacRob 2nd March 2021 12:02

White Smoke

I’m sure my car doesn’t want to be MOT’d.
Latest problem that has started today for no reason.
The car has started to produce white smoke when ticking over and when under power.
Cars only done 20 miles is 4 months and has just under 94k on it.
Any ideas as to what is causing it. I’ve tried getting it to temp and running it at fast idle for 15 mins but no change.
The crankcase filter was changed less than 4k ago along with fresh oil and the MAF has always been disconnected since I got the car 21 months ago.
Car is a manual CDTi with a EGR bypass, DeCat and a 160 map.

Ian G 2nd March 2021 12:12

I'm no expert but white smoke is usually a sign of unburnt diesel so possibly an injector issue.. I'm sure one of the tech guys will be along soon to say I'm wrong:D:D

Ched 2nd March 2021 21:15

Might well be a worn out injector, worst case is water entering the combustion chamber.

Get it on a t4 and monitor the injectors.

COLVERT 2nd March 2021 22:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ian G (Post 2868550)
I'm no expert but white smoke is usually a sign of unburnt diesel so possibly an injector issue.. I'm sure one of the tech guys will be along soon to say I'm wrong:D:D

Over-rich burning diesel coming out of the back of lorries is usually black.-- I think our cars should be the same. Engine oil can look white or bluish in colour. Could be leaking turbo seals.---:shrug:

MacRob 3rd March 2021 09:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by COLVERT (Post 2868699)
Unburnt diesel coming out of the back of lorries is usually black.-- I think our cars should be the same. Engine oil can look white or bluish in colour. Could be leaking turbo seals.---:shrug: