The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums

The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Social Forum (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   The Cortina restoration. (https://www.the75andztclub.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=313658)

Saga Lout 21st June 2021 07:21

The Cortina restoration.

3 Attachment(s)
As some of you know, I'm on with a Ford Cortina MK3 2000E restoration. As my eyesight has been holding me back, the work is slow but over recent days I've been back at it. In the past few weeks I built a vapour blaster to help with all of my car projects, money well spent I can tell you. I had an uphill task with the gearbox until recently, either it will cost a fortune and be full of pattern parts or I'll get the right bits. In the end I have now got everything for it and all genuine Ford items and so, the gearbox build is go, it's a C3 autobox and I've never built one before now. I hand polished the bell housing to remove the chips and scratches from 45 years of use, it'll tone down and then I'll coat it in etch lacquer to protect it from oxidising again. I'm sure that many of us have had to clean alloy at some point and found it tedious, that's where the vapour blaster comes in, you soda blast it first to a dull but clean finish and the vapour hone it.

Ian G 21st June 2021 07:31

Wow that looks amazing..What a finish:drool4::cool:

FLYING BANANA 21st June 2021 07:46

Stunning. That is certainly a good job well done.

Teflon 21st June 2021 07:59

Amazing work :bowdown:. Love MK3 Cortinas, terrific looking cars :drool4:

Cliff

trikey 21st June 2021 08:55

Having had the same engine and box in a trike years ago, I could only dream of having a finish like that on them.

I never achieved that level of cleanliness, a superb job Mike, hats off to you.

SCP440 21st June 2021 22:06