Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st December 2018, 01:25   #1
Alexandru.Edward
Regular poster
 
Rover 75 Saloon

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 49
Thanks: 49
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Temperature and RPM gauge not working

My Rover 75 CDTI suddenly stopped showing engine temperature and RPM and the HRW not working.
I read that can be from ECU CANBUS. My ECU never got any water near it and the plenums are OK.
This started to happen after a very cold night.
Could this be from sudor?
If I get a heatgun near it for a few minutes this will help?
I tried to disconnect the battery for 15 minutes but this didn't work.
Also, if I open and then close the door, the car shows that the door it's still open on dash.
Thanks!!
Alexandru.Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2018, 02:23   #2
marinabrian
Not Walter Softy ;)
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
A few too many

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: People's Republic of North Tyneside
Posts: 16,625
Thanks: 2,190
Thanked 7,430 Times in 4,061 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandru.Edward View Post
My Rover 75 CDTI suddenly stopped showing engine temperature and RPM and the HRW not working.
I read that can be from ECU CANBUS. My ECU never got any water near it and the plenums are OK.
This started to happen after a very cold night.
Could this be from sudor?
If I get a heatgun near it for a few minutes this will help?
I tried to disconnect the battery for 15 minutes but this didn't work.
Also, if I open and then close the door, the car shows that the door it's still open on dash.
Thanks!!
Your car is fitted with an NNN100692 ECM, and the CANBUS controller has failed.

The specific fault code is CAN messages instrument pack three.

I'm afraid it is a case of a replacement ECM as the component required for this repair is no longer available.

If you are interested, I have one for sale at the moment, and I'm more than happy to transfer the coding from your original ECM.

Here is the retail price of the unit excluding programming LINK

And here is the link to the one I have for sale LINK

Brian
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to marinabrian For This Useful Post:
Old 2nd December 2018, 17:50   #3
Alexandru.Edward
Regular poster
 
Rover 75 Saloon

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 49
Thanks: 49
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you, but I think the postage will cost much because I live in Romania...

What is the component required for repair? In my country this may still be available..

Can a bad battery (12.2V) cause the canbus to fail?

Thanks!
Alexandru.Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2018, 18:05   #4
marinabrian
Not Walter Softy ;)
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
A few too many

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: People's Republic of North Tyneside
Posts: 16,625
Thanks: 2,190
Thanked 7,430 Times in 4,061 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandru.Edward View Post
Thank you, but I think the postage will cost much because I live in Romania...

What is the component required for repair? In my country this may still be available..

Can a bad battery (12.2V) cause the canbus to fail?

Thanks!
There are no stocks worldwide of the part required to repair this Edward, it is a custom processor made by NEC for Bosch I'm afraid

I could find out what the postage costs would be to Romania if you wish, however I would need your unit to transfer the coding unless you have access to a T4 locally.

I've supplied ECM units further afield in the past, no reason I can't do so again

Brian
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to marinabrian For This Useful Post:
Old 2nd December 2018, 19:45   #5
Alexandru.Edward
Regular poster
 
Rover 75 Saloon

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 49
Thanks: 49
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will check the postage tomorrow too, you'll need the ECU and IMMO? No T4 here..
THIS is the processor?
I have a spare car and I think that processor could be taken from that car ECU and be used on my main ECU, right?

That happened so suddenly, after a cold night and I suspect the battery..

Thanks!
Alexandru.Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2018, 21:08   #6
marinabrian
Not Walter Softy ;)
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
A few too many

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: People's Republic of North Tyneside
Posts: 16,625
Thanks: 2,190
Thanked 7,430 Times in 4,061 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandru.Edward View Post
I will check the postage tomorrow too, you'll need the ECU and IMMO? No T4 here..
THIS is the processor?
I have a spare car and I think that processor could be taken from that car ECU and be used on my main ECU, right?

That happened so suddenly, after a cold night and I suspect the battery..

Thanks!
Are you saying you have a spare DDE4 in a spare car?

I wouldn't need the EWS, I would only need the DDE4, however you could fit the ECU as a "set" from your spare car as a temporary measure.

Just a thought

Brian
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to marinabrian For This Useful Post:
Old 2nd December 2018, 21:54   #7
Alexandru.Edward
Regular poster
 
Rover 75 Saloon

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 49
Thanks: 49
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I have a spare DDE4. If I run the car like that for a long period, will this damage anything?
Alexandru.Edward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2018, 00:23   #8
marinabrian
Not Walter Softy ;)
 
marinabrian's Avatar
 
A few too many

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: People's Republic of North Tyneside
Posts: 16,625
Thanks: 2,190
Thanked 7,430 Times in 4,061 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandru.Edward View Post
Yes, I have a spare DDE4. If I run the car like that for a long period, will this damage anything?
No not at all, and it will give you time to sort the problem properly Edward

So use the EWS, DDE4 and the key transponder from your spare car, and if you post me your faulty DDE, I can transfer all of the coding data from that to the one I have for sale to make you a plug and play replacement

Brian
marinabrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2018, 16:24   #9
RoverP480
Avid contributor
 
None at the moment

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Hereford
Posts: 212
Thanks: 0
Thanked 78 Times in 69 Posts
Default

12.2 volts is very low, about 50% charged. I had all sorts of problems with errors on my 75 when the battery was on the way out . New one solved everything
RoverP480 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RoverP480 For This Useful Post:
Old 3rd December 2018, 19:10   #10
COLVERT
This is my second home
 
R75 Saloon.

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Newton Abbot / France
Posts: 9,059
Thanks: 1,829
Thanked 805 Times in 707 Posts
Default

Try a GOOD battery. You might just have a pleasant surprise.


Low voltages can do silly things.---
__________________
COLVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLVERT For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2006-2018, The Rover 75 & MG ZT Owners Club Ltd