Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club General Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 23rd July 2007, 14:10   #1
allegroman
Gets stuck in

Rover 75 Tourer CDT Club SE: BRG, Deep Sea Green and plenty of options

Default Tourer launch date?

Hi
I am new to 75 ownership, having just bought a Y-reg CDT Club SE, formerly an MG-Rover company car. I'm wondering just how early it is, can anyone tell me the launch date for the Tourer, and is there any way to find out what the chassis numbers began at?
Cheers
allegroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2007, 15:33   #2
EnEnGee
Posted a thing or two

CDT Tourer (SORN) & 2.0 V6 Saloon

Unfortunately , I can't give you an exact date. BMW did develop the Tourer along side the Saloon but held back on giving the go ahead for Tourer production. This was possibly as a result of the disappointing sales following the explosive speech by Bernt Pischetsrieder at the 1999 Motor Show, which overshadowed the launch, and must have affected customer confidence in Rover, due to uncertainty as to the company's survival.

Consequently after BMW bailed out and Phoenix took over, the transfer of production facilities from Cowley (Oxford) to Longbridge took place over the summer of 2000 with production restarting in around October that year. The trim tracks and paint shop were commissioned first with the body line and robots coming later due to the additional time in installation. I believe that the earliest saloons built at LB were with Cowley built shells which were stockpiled at LB while the "body in white" plant was installed in LB West Works. At the same time, the plant was adapted as necessary to accomodate the Tourer which were never built at Cowley.