Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Technology Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 5th March 2007, 13:48   #1
The_Monk
I really should get out more.......

-

Default Linux and Networking

Ok, I failed on the windows networking! Can share my internet access but not files or printing which is a pain. However, I have two more PC's that I'd like to set up and neither has any operating software. Can't afford two licences for windows so was going to opt for linux. How hard is configuring the network settings in linux? I've never used linux before but have seen people using it and it looks good. If i eventually get my windows network sorted can i add the two computers using linux? The one PC using linux will have the printers linked into it (Drivers Permitting I Expect) having failed doing it on windows is it going to be a problem sorting it on linux?

Thanks for taking the time to answer!
The_Monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 15:52   #2
JohnDotCom

Rover 75 FaceLift Tourer CDTi 170BHP Auto ConnSE 2005 Model Starlight Silver

What have you done to enable Printing in Windows?
Are you wireless or 10/100 Cat 5 Connections?
Mixing O/S's on Networks unless all working properly, and you know what your doing (no offence meant or implied) can be a another problem.
Lastly how have you gone about seting up Network?
Just might be easier to check through your process.
JohnDotCom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 18:51   #3
The_Monk

-

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDotCom View Post
What have you done to enable Printing in Windows?
Are you wireless or 10/100 Cat 5 Connections?
Mixing O/S's on Networks unless all working properly, and you know what your doing (no offence meant or implied) can be a another problem.
Lastly how have you gone about seting up Network?
Just might be easier to check through your process.