Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Photography Corner
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 2nd December 2017, 11:10   #1
Tam
Posted a thing or two

05 ZT+, 04 ZT+, 64 P6 2.0, 74 P6 V8s, 75 P6 V8, 92 214Si, 04 25 Td, 02 Defend , 05 ZR 105+ x2

Default Advice/Help for a young beginner.

Hi photographers! First of all I have no skills or knowledge of such things. But I'm asking for my son who has been enrolled in a local photography class for about a year now. He is 14 and enjoying it but hampered by the quality of his camera which is basically my bridge camera for taking pictures of birds in garden (feathered).
We would like to get him something a bit better but have a little budget and well equipment is VERY expensive!
Any help advice welcome. Second hand seems the only option? Thanks Tam.
Old 2nd December 2017, 11:36   #2
Avulon
This is my second home

1.8t Tourer

Thanked 1,148 Times in 916 Posts

Second hand is the best option in many cases. But it will depend on the sort of photographs he's trying to take in what situations. Does he want/is able to carry a large amount of heavy kit for a shoot. Or does he need to be light and quick? Depending on what he's trying to do will make a big difference in the camera. The best advice I would have thought would have come from the tutor in the photography class. If the only advice from that quarter is to get the latest semi-pro DSLR and lens collection then find a better tutor.