Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 26th July 2019, 14:42   #1
Tom131

75 Tourer

Default ZT CDTi down on power

Hi Folks,

I'm in real need of some forum wisdom today. Apologies, but there's fairly long story to this one; please bear with me, some of the info may even be relevant.

So, I'm a long time MG-Rover driver / owner, having run no less than 14 different examples over the last 20 years, including 3 x 75 / ZT diesels. I'm also an aerospace engineer by trade, so I consider myself pretty technically competent, but this one has got me scratching my head.

The current problem child was acquired via ebay auction around a month ago. Its a high spec 54 plate ZT CDTi, with a tad over 100k on the clock. It would appear that during its life it has seen at least some attention lavished on it, with several of the common faults apparently already having been rectified (eg intercooler O-rings), albeit with a distinct lack of mechanical sympathy (read bodged). I was told it had been service religiously through it's life, though no receipts could be produced to confirm this. Once I got it home I gave it a damned good service myself to be sure, and whilst the air filter must have done less than a thousand miles, I doubt if the PCV filter had been changed in the last decade, as it had a huge quantity of thick tar-like muck all over the filter and housing.

Anyway, on to the important stuff. At the time of viewing / collection it was clearly down on power, but disconnecting the MAF instantly improved the situation, so I assumed that to be the culprit. Other that this, the car has always started and run well enough. Having previously enjoyed positive results from the Pierburg MAF & Synergy combo, I duly order one of each from Ron and fitted them.