Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 29th June 2012, 08:29   #1
craig8661
Posted a thing or two

rover 75 tourer cdt

Default replacing high pressure pump

hi there just wondering have the special tool to stop sproket falling in but nothing on how im sopposed to use the tool.

do you wind the outer in then crack the nut on the pump then wind the center piece in.

or do you crack the nut of the pump remove nut then wind outer in then wind center part in to push the pump out of the sprocket.

im going back to northern ireland on tuesday morning to do the job on the pump as the car broke down about 8 weeks ago when it dropped 30 liters of diesel into the sump via the high pressure pump.

any info will be brill as i have never done this job to the 75 before.

im going to replace the pcv new oil filters etc
mods so far synergy 2
heated washer jets
cant really add anything else as it has it all lol
craig8661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2012, 12:42   #2
Bigcul1
Gets stuck in

Rover 75 CDTi Con SE

have you tried reading the following:

http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/andymacs/
Bigcul1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2012, 18:29   #3
Charlesz

Rover 75 Tourer Conn SE

Hi,

my method:
put a jack under the sump to support the engine,
remove covers, inlet manifold and starter (this def. gives you more working room) and undo the top engine mounting (think this was an odd 18mm socket - and a shallow socket fits more easily). EGR was undone and you end up taking the diesel return pipes out of the way.

you need to undo the cover from the timing case - i used an oil change socket from Halfords as i didn't have anything the right size - which i then sold with the sprocket tool when i'd finished.