Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > I.C.E. Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th September 2019, 14:11   #1
Bean66
Regular poster
 
MG Ztt and the wifes TF

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Brum
Posts: 46
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Default How to change the BMW splash screen on a Mk3

Hi All


With my Mk3 sat nav unit not working and showing signs of water damage i decided to take the plunge and get a cheap SH replacement.



So i managed to get a BMW version from a well know auction site and not for stupid money.



And Yeay it works, brill.


But i now have a BMW splash screen on startup and the BMW menu screens, half of which do not apply.


So question for the 75/Zt experts, what can i change and how do i do that.


Any help would be welcome, but ideally i'd like to change the BMW splash for an MG and get the menu screens back to the nice blue rather than the black i now have.


But hey it works so going in the right direction.


Cheers


Bean
Bean66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 20:47   #2
Bean66
Regular poster
 
MG Ztt and the wifes TF

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Brum
Posts: 46
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean66 View Post
Hi All


i managed to get a BMW version from a well know auction site And Yeay it works, brill.


But i now have a BMW splash screen on startup and the BMW menus


So question for the 75/Zt experts, what can i change and how do i do that.


ideally i'd like to change the BMW splash for an MG and get the menu screens back to the nice blue rather than the black


But hey it works so going in the right direction.


Bean

Hi Guy's


Anyone got any ideas how to do this these days or if it can be done.



Old posts i've found with links etc don't seem to work and having the dreaded "BMW" logo flash op every time i start up is slightly galling.


Cheeers Bean
Bean66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2019, 07:36   #3
Nich
Avid contributor
 
MG ZT-T 260SE

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 157
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 23 Posts
Default

As far as I remember the Mk3 splash screen cannot be updated. May be wrong, it's a long time ago.


Nich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2019, 15:32   #4
stocktake
Vis Whiz
 
stocktake's Avatar
 
Rover 75 2.5 auto Saloon

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LEEDS
Posts: 19,256
Thanks: 1,105
Thanked 1,913 Times in 1,112 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nich View Post
As far as I remember the Mk3 splash screen cannot be updated. May be wrong, it's a long time ago.

It can, as i have one but somebody gave me a disc to do it a long time ago, tried a few times to find it without success.
__________________
Dave...



Lost a few stones and a Gall Bladder and part of a bile duct and all of my dignity in the suppository incident
stocktake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2020, 14:51   #5
Bean66
Regular poster
 
MG Ztt and the wifes TF

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Brum
Posts: 46
Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi All anyone got any further ideas on this splash screen issue?


Also on another ICE related thing. I have a Hi Line system with a TV which does no work since the analogue signal went.


Suppose its not real important but it would be nice if it did.


So i'm told a modern digital BMW unit will do the job but they are kind of expensive so would this kind of thing work? Its listed to be BMW compatible back to 03 models so maybe would work with ours. Anyone got any ideas if it would and how to get it wired in.


https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1080P-HD-...MAAOSw27FbMIuF


At 60 quid its an ok spend if it can be made to work but i'd rather not spend it on spec.


Ta Keith
Bean66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2020, 15:24   #6
stocktake
Vis Whiz
 
stocktake's Avatar
 
Rover 75 2.5 auto Saloon

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LEEDS
Posts: 19,256
Thanks: 1,105
Thanked 1,913 Times in 1,112 Posts
Default

Any DVB-T box should work. However you will need an adapter lead that is specifically for the 75 (BMW one wont work)and is on the wrong side of £100. Failing that you need to add wires into the tuner in the boot to accept input from Audio and video, not too difficult. Input will be mono but you wont notice for TV.
I had the tuner pin in spec somewhere but I suspect Photobucket has trashed it unless you have a browser with an addon to sort that problem (IE Chrome)
__________________
Dave...



Lost a few stones and a Gall Bladder and part of a bile duct and all of my dignity in the suppository incident
stocktake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2020, 06:49   #7
Phil-T4
I really should get out more.......
 
Phil-T4's Avatar
 
MG ZT-T, Rover 75 Tourer

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olney
Posts: 2,887
Thanks: 238
Thanked 981 Times in 612 Posts
Default

Read this..... http://www.bimmerboard.com/forums/posts/293615

It definitely works on the BMW Mk3 drive, never tried it on the Rover Mk3 as they will crash and burn by just looking at them!
Phil-T4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2006-2020, The Rover 75 & MG ZT Owners Club Ltd