Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 20th October 2020, 20:13   #1
dave1850
Regular poster

Rover 75 Saloon

Default Coolant Level Dropping

Hello and please may I ask everyone's advice

I'm new to the K-series engine having recently come back into 75 ownership after a series of 75 diesels long ago. Almost immediately I'm having to top up the coolant after every trip in my 55 reg 1.8t. Just 50-100mls each time. The car had a new head gasket some 3k miles ago before I bought it and the inlet manifold gasket was done then. I've put a new gold resistor on the 2-speed fan, which is cutting in at around 105c. The engine runs at a steady 96 on the motorway. No mayo in the filler cap, oil levels steady and clean.

I'm guessing from reading posts here that it is most probably a leak somewhere in the coolant system. In fact there are so many posts and possibilities I confess to being a bit confused as to where to start! I would like to eliminate possibilities one by one and so starting with the simplest first I replaced the rad expansion cap. No improvement, it needed 100ml today after just 7 miles.

What should a not especially mechanical person like me do next?

thank you
Dave
dave1850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2020, 20:22   #2
COLVERT
This is my second home

R75 Saloon.

Thanked 2,167 Times in 1,816 Posts

If it's an external leak then the anti-freeze as it dries off will leave a tell tale stain. A torch and one of those mirrors on a stick might help if that's what you have.---
COLVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2020, 20:24   #3
trikey
Premium Trader

Rover 75

Thanked 14,831 Times in 8,030 Posts

Firstly ensure its bled correctly before looking for any leaks.
Old 20th October 2020, 20:33   #4
euro44
Avid contributor

mg zt-t 226th made from total of 396