Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Technical Help Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 18th June 2012, 10:16   #1
niallb
Avid contributor

MG ZT CDTi

Default HP Pump Replacement

Last edited by niallb; 20th June 2012 at 07:10..
niallb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:54   #2
Hogwarzt
Gets stuck in

MG ZT CDTI 170BHP, PUG CC 180 Sport

I'm not an expert, but i got someone who knew what they were doing. I think there is a chance that the sprocket can fall into the engine then thats an engine out job ... Maybe be wrong.
Hogwarzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 13:06   #3
James.uk
Passed Away

2002 Pale Blue. Rover 75 CDTi Connoisseur auto. 170K miles

Yes you need to beg, borrow, or buy the tool for the job....
James.uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 13:06   #4
Bigcul1
Gets stuck in

Rover 75 CDTi Con SE

Yes you do need the tool, I have one pm me for details.

Fitting procedure (not mine, nicked from somewhere else)

You have to remove the engine undertray,
then get a small trolly jack and a piece of wood under the left hand side and back end of the sump,
Take the weight of engine,
Take the engine cover off 3 bolts
You then remove the air filter inlet pipe at the front of the engine 3 bolts
and 2 on the inlet manifold,
Then i removed the inlet manifold
i think its 12 or so bolts
the air inlet pipe from the inter cooler off from the egr
Ther is a couple of electrical connectors
i then put clean rag in all 8inlet holes ,
Then removed the high pressure steel fuel pipe from pump to fuel rail
and put tape on the pump and pipe to stop dirt getting in,
Then the two rubber pipes off the stainless fuel inlet pipes i left the rubber
other ends on the pump
You may need new jubilee clips as mine were one way clips and could not reuse them
I then disconected the batterie lead and undid the starter motor 2 bolts the bottom one is a nut and bolt