Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Social Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read
Notices

Old 20th January 2019, 20:21   #1
bikerdude666
Posted a thing or two

Jaguar Xe diseasal

Default Silver soldering?

Anyone here give me some advice on technique and links to what solder is good? I've been given a kit to build a static steam engine, but it'll require me to do some silver soldering which I've never done before. I was going to get some scraps to practice on before trying to solder the kit together.

Thanks.
bikerdude666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 21:01   #2
stevestrat
This is my second home

ZT260 #243 (resting)

Thanked 4,624 Times in 3,358 Posts

For model making type soldering don't use the electrical solder which has flux in it. Go to a decent model supply shop, one that stocks soldering supplies and get separate solder and flux. Practising on scrap stuff first is essential. there are books on metal model making as well. Have a read at this.

T4 Location Map
stevestrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 21:10   #3
Les4048
This is my second home

Rover 75 Tourer/ MG ZT-T 400

Thanked 1,523 Times in 869 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevestrat View Post
For model making type soldering don't use the electrical solder which has flux in it. Go to a decent model supply shop, one that stocks soldering supplies and get separate solder and flux. Practising on scrap stuff first is essential. there are books on metal model making as well. Have a read at this.
It never ceases to amaze me the amount of knowledge shared on here. I’m never going to do any soldering but the site looks very interesting
Les4048 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 22:27   #4
p2roverman
Gets stuck in

Rover 75 Connie Tourer & Connie SE Saloon & Club SE Tourer