Go Back   The 75 and ZT Owners Club Forums > Social Forums > Touring Boating Camping & Caravan Forum
Register FAQ Image Gallery Members List Calendar
Notices

Old 25th January 2018, 08:48   #1
Busboy
Loves to post

75 tourer (facelift) 2.0 CDTi

Question towing weight (unbraked)

Being new to caravaning, not having bought one yet, I am still learning, and would like to know what towing weight (unbraked) means, Ij assume all modern caravans have a braking mechanism?

One of the best of the last from the last of the best!
Produced on Valentine's day 2005 - 8 weeks before the end.
Busboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2018, 09:09   #2
Fox3
Avid contributor

MG ZT CDTi and MG ZT 190

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busboy View Post
Being new to caravaning, not having bought one yet, I am still learning, and would like to know what towing weight (unbraked) means, Ij assume all modern caravans have a braking mechanism?
Yes, most if not all caravans have brakes. Unbraked relates to small trailers, the capacity is lighter as it relies on the cars brakes only
Old 25th January 2018, 09:47   #3
macafee2
This is my second home

Rover 75 Saloon & Tourer

Thanked 3,032 Times in 2,181 Posts

unbraked, no brakes fitted to towed item.
braked, brakes fitted to towed item

probably all caravans in the last 40 years have brakes, not sure about trailer tents or pop up caravans or a mini caravan more 1 person size

the weights may also be based upon when you passed your driving test.
in this case Google will be your friend

macafee2
macafee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2018, 09:52   #4
Busboy
Loves to post

75 tourer (facelift) 2.0 CDTi

Quote:
Originally Posted by macafee2 View Post
braked, brakes fitted to towed item

probably all caravans in the last 40 years have brakes, not sure about trailer tents or pop up caravans or a mini caravan more 1 person size

macafee2
Thanks macafee2, the wife's looking at caravans at the moment ,lol.